BB Creams for the bronzed

As an avid lover of asian BB creams and fake tanning, I am well aware that the both do not mix! Most BB creams make it up only to around light/medium skin tone…and even then that’s with a lot of blending, and using of a darker setting powder. However, there are two asian bb creams that ventured away from the light skinned norm: Missha and Skin 79.

Now in order to help you ladies (and gents!) I have decided to swatch both of these bb creams next to some of my american counterparts.

Image

I am aware that lighting affects color immensely thus here is a short description of each comparison base so you can see how they compare with their asian counterparts. Also, just to reiterate, with a fake tan I am a dead on for NC42-45.

Lancome Teint Idole Ultra in 410W: One of the MOST yellow foundations I have ever come upon in my entire life. As a result this shade sometimes looks overly yellow against my fake tan, however this would be perfect if your tan (real or not) is a more golden color.

Sonia Kashuk Radiant+ Tinted Moisturizer in Tan: A slightly golden tinged neutral shade. Although the shade is amazing for a drugstore find, it is still a bit more neutral when compared to higher end brands that cater to golden undertones.

NARS Pure tinted Moisturizer in Cuba: A olive/golden/neutral tone. This tone is the most difficult for me to describe, it does not run pink however I would not classify it as completely golden either…it does carry an extremely olive tone as well.

Image

L-R: Lancome, MISSHA, Nars, Skin 79, Sonia Kashuk

All the bases I am using match me fairly well. Best matching would be the NARS cuba, however the Lancome and Sonia Kashuk bases also look flawless against my fake tan. I would say they are all really great shades if you are a NC42 individual. Also a small disclaimer, for some reason the teint idole ultra shade looks extremely light in these photos, it mightve been because I did not give the formula enough time to oxidize…or maybe my fake is darker than it now…

Image

L-R: Lancome, MISSHA, NARS, Skin 79, Sonia Kashuk

As you can see MISSHA leans extremely pink/peach against it’s american counterparts, it’s not a bad shade however on my face it does make me look washed out. The Skin79, to my surprise, is a better shade if you’re golden, however, what surprises me the most is the shade runs grey- kind of like the rest of their bb creams.

Also I thought this was pretty funny, but along with my Skin 79 bronze package i got this lovely sample

Image

Oh the hilarity, anyways I hope I was helpful, and if anyone has any info on this Crystal Miracle body cream i’d really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

